Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 16th, 2008

September Quilt Guild

Last night was quilt guild. No afternoon workshop so I arrived by 6:25 p.m. to be greeter (as VP, one of my jobs) and to get all the other necessities done.


Found a chair, put my secret sister gift in the kitchen, sorted my nickel squares (rust this month), all the while everyone was clamoring to me with their President’s blocks. I was thrilled so many turned their blocks in last night!! I just counted 24 blocks! Yeah!! Out of 66 members, I’m pleased. (Members were given a pattern and fabric recommendations to make a block for the president. What pattern should I choose next year?)

Our program was a trunk show by the owners (Cheri Ebens and Kathy Tilsy) of a quilt shop in Ashton. I’ve never been there as it is quite a ways for me. The shop is called Cottage Garden Quilts. (pardon the messy background as the church where we meet uses the stage for storage!)

I didn’t get many pictures but tried to snap a few so you could see a bit. I bet they brought over 50 quilts to show! It was fun!!

This quilt was given to one of them by her husband. He had gone to Iowa with his friend to specifically buy her a quilt. He knew all about prairie points and that she liked them. This is beautiful & dreamy in person!

This is a quilt make using nickel squares. This is my first year to be in the nickel square exchange so I was interested in a use for them. This pattern is free on their website.

Maybe Aunt Eileen recognizes this pattern as it is the Orange Crush mystery quilt from Quiltville. She just used burgundy instead of orange! https://i1.wp.com/img115.exs.cx/img115/9916/z4dwink.gif

The Dixon quilt guild let us know about their November program and I’m going to go! It will be Bonnie Hunter from Quiltville! https://i0.wp.com/img103.exs.cx/img103/6541/biggrin.gif Then that same week, I’m going to attend a workshop by Bonnie using her Pineapple Blossoms pattern. I’m thinking pinks and darker tans…. but brights would be fun or all blues… too many choices! I’m excited for the program and the class!! (Mrs. So & So paid for my class fee today. WTG!!)

Read Full Post »