Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 14th, 2010

Spring Wreath

A few weeks ago, Shelly had this great idea.

I told her that I thought there were old bed springs in the junk pile.  I asked sweetly to my hubby and he brought us 1 spring for approval of the Great Crafter Friend.

Shelly thought this would do.  And we both liked the price!

I requested 15 springs and “he” questioned the odd number.  I was just asking for a few extra.    😉   Soon I had a bag of 16 springs (15+sample) and we needed to plan a day to get together.

Time passed.

More springs appeared on my deck!   🙂

Finally, we gathered.

Shelly had the brains behind how this would work.  Thankfully my shoulder was better and we both worked at stretching out the springs!! Good Golly!!!

And then one time the spring sprung and spewed rust dust into my eyes….

We ended up making 4 wreaths tho the last one is a bit make-shift so it is still wondering its purpose in life.   😉  Wreath number 3 appeared on a friend’s doorstep that afternoon.   🙂

At home (and after much more time had passed….) I sprayed the wreaths with a sealer.   Then after looking in vain for additions to the wreath, Shelly once again rescued me and found a bird & the perfect ribbon for me.   I had burlap to share with her.

I wasn’t sure where to hang the wreath because I didn’t want it scratching my new doors.  I got out one of K’s old doors and gave it its porch home back for the spring.

Read Full Post »