Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 9th, 2008

4-H Livestock Auction


JP was allowed to auction one animal he showed with the 4-H auction. He sent invitations to some of the various business we work with in the area.

This year had the largest amount of 4-Hers participating in the auction which is in its 5th year. There were 19 animals auctioned: hogs, cattle, sheep, and a goat.

The market price (what any farmer would get) for hogs that night was $0.59 / pound. JP’s hog sold for $2.00/ pound! He was quite happy!!

We are church friends with his buyer, the local bank President! Seeing that his money hits his savings account, they win both ways!!

Thank you!!

Before the auction at 7 p.m., JP was in the 4-H Parade of Champions. Here are a few more pictures from Tuesday.

The 4-Hers coming into the grandstand track for the parade line-up:

You’ll remember that he won a Champion in Computers and Champion in Small Pets. He carried his Small Pets lapbook and ribbons from both projects. It was very hot so Mom allowed shades & a hat. (with apologies to the grandmas….)



I don’t get many pictures of my teen boy so I enjoy what I can get:


At the auction:

(pleased with my action shot!)


While his pig is up for auction, he shows it in the ring.


After his pig had been sold and was back in the pen, JP gives his thirsty pig a drink! It was so thrilled to drink from the sprayer… usually used for keeping said pig cool with a mist. However, this was the lazy pig’s straw!

See the building in these last 4 pictures? This was the open-sided building where we weathered Monday night’s storm. Ugh…

It still gives me moment to shudder… and to be thankful for His Protection!


Read Full Post »

My Fair Results

I was able to check my fair results on Tuesday before the 4-H Parade of Champions. (JP was in the parade.) However, Wednesday brought more … too much more… life so you’ve had to wait all week for this!

You have already seen pictures for most of my entries….

Embroidered Pillowcases – greens – 1st, tan/burgundy hummingbirds – 2nd
Pillows – Embroidered – 1st & 2nd
Pillows – Appliqued – 1st & 2nd
Pillows – Quilted – 1st
Any other Quilted Item – Quilted Tote – 2nd, Nativity runner – 3rd
Quilted Wallhanging – Buggy Barn Friendship quilt – 1st
Kitchen Article – hot pad (that one I hurried to do for quilt guild) – 3rd
Purse – cherry & black with bobbin work – 1st & Best of Show, yellow & brights – 3rd
Personal Item – cosmetic bag (matches cherry & black purse) – 1st
Apron – embroidered 1st
Ornaments – 2nd
Homemade soap – 1st

I’m quite pleased with my results! Tonight I get my items and my money. Not huge prizes but either for the quilt shop or my oven fund!

I checked… no more pictures from the fair to include. Sorry!!

Read Full Post »